Kraftwerk 3D

I’m on vacation – finally. Time to check out some of the things I’ve left dangling during the last weeks. One of them – Apple Musics Dolby Atmos. Apple made a fuzz about Atmos, so I figure it’s about time to see if there is any relevant media on Music that can impress me.

Arguably – there is, but nut everywhere Atmos is enabled, the sound can really impress. So what do I need to feel impressed.

First of all – a quiet room, possibly at night. Next, my MacbookPro16″ which is terribly underused since I’m working on a PC again. Now – for the Music. Apple of course features all kinds of Atmos enabled songs. Anything from classic over the Beatles up to the latest pop can apparently be three dimensionalized. Now – I don’t care if you like synth music. You must absolutely take your dolby enabled MBP and check out the 3D – The Catalouge from Kraftwerk. Keep in mind that the first song – Autobahn – is originally from 1974. Timetravel back and consider what a PC beeper would be able to produce in that time.

Now hit play, place the mbp on your lap, close your eyes, and be engulfed in a sphere of sound. If you really get into it – you wont be able to say where your loudspeakers actually are. The Music is seemingly just coming out of nowhere all around you. The synths move about, vocals beam right into the center of your mind. There is enough room for every instrument to claim for its own. But not only does every instrument have its space, it can literally move around you.

It’s inspiring to be part of this piece of art. Even just listening to it makes it come to life. all the care and professional craftmanship from the music creation, recording, sampling mixing, over to encoding, bringing it over onto my mac. The Mac itself coming up with a soundsystem that can decode and place all that sound around my ears – and finally my own ears, that pick it up, interpret it and spark all those thoughts, inspirations, let me travel in space and time… Incredible.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started